Print Page

Fain Cain Memorial Award for Outstanding NFL Athletic Trainer of the Year

The Fain-Cain award is named for Dr. Thomas E. Cain and Dr. Robert H. Fain, both  long time team physicians for the old Houston Oilers. The award was established shortly after Dr. Cain's death and Dr. Fain's retirement. Both physicians exhibited long term commitments to the NFL and exemplary performances. The award is given annually to an NFL athletic trainer who manifests these traits.  This award is sponsored by the NFL Physician’s Society and is presented to the PFATS member who best reflects the virtues of a certified athletic trainer and displays the highest level of professionalism. This award is given annually at the NFL Team Physicians Scientific Meeting and Symposia in Indianapolis at the NFL Combine. 


Cincinnati Bengals Head Athletic Trainer Paul Sparling during his acceptance speech after receiving the Fain-Cain Award at the 2020 Combine


Previous Winners

Year Recipient Team
2020 Paul Sparling Cincinnati Bengals
2019 Jim Whalen New England Patriots
2018 Dave Hammer Indianapolis Colts
2017        Jim Maurer Dallas Cowboys
2016 Ryan Vermillion Carolina Panthers
2015 John Norwig Pittsburgh Steelers
2014 Kevin O'Neill Miami Dolphins
2013 Pepper Burruss Green Bay Packers
2012 Rod Martin Oakland Raiders
2011 Steve Antonopulos Denver Broncos
2010 Bill Tessendorf Baltimore Ravens
2009 Hunter  Smith Indianapolis Colts
2008 John Omohundro Arizona Cardinals
2007         Ron O'Neil
Dave Kendall
New England Patriots
Kansas City Chiefs
2006            Scottie Patton, Kevin Mangum, Duane Brooks New Orleans Saints
2005 Lindsy McLean San Francisco 49ers
2004 Bubba Tyer Washington Redskins
2003 Ronnie Barnes New York Football Giants
2002 Jim Whitesel Seattle Seahawks
2001 Dean Kleinschmidt New Orleans Saints
2000 Kent Falb Detroit Lions
1999 Fred Zamberletti Minnesota Vikings
1998 Jerry Rhea Atlanta Falcons




close (X)