Print Page

 Tim Davey Assistant Athletic Trainer of the Year Award


The Tim Davey Assistant Athletic Trainer Award was formed in recognition of the outstanding effort Tim made in the field of athletic training.  Tim was an employee of the New York Jets and the NFL for 33 years.  He was an assistant athletic trainer for the Jets from 1969 to 1977.  He stayed on with the Jets involved with team operations from 1977 to 1991.  Tim later joined the NFL in 1991 in the game operations department. He served as the league’s coordinator of stadium operations and field matters, and was in charge of operations at AFC/NFC championship games and led Pro Bowl Operations.  Tim’s commitment to doing the best possible job in everything he did, his sense of humor and the fact that you could always count on him as a colleague and friend are the Principals for this award. Tim passed away in January of 2010, but his legacy will live on through this award.

The Tim Davey Assistant Athletic Trainer of the Year award is presented annually at the PFATS meeting at the NFL Combine in Indianapolis. The recipient is nominated by the membership and selected by a committee that includes past recipients. This award is emblematic of the commitment, dedication and high level of integrity that Tim Davey brought to the profession of athletic training and is representative of his level of service which he dedicated to his surrounding community.

This year’s award was presented to Kevin Mangum of the New Oreleans Saints (NFC) and Roland Ramirez of Houston Texans (AFC)



Picture 1: New Orleans Saints Head Athletic Trainer Scottie Patten (left) presenting the Award to Assistant Athletic Trainer Kevin Mangum
Picture2:  Houston Texans Head Athletic Trainer Geoff Kaplan (right) presenting the Award to Assistant Athletic Trainer Roland Ramirez


Previous Winners


2014 - Scott Touchet, Oakland Raiders
2013 - Greg McMillen, Buffalo Bills
2012-  Don Moseley, Tennessee Titans
2011 - Troy Maurer, Miami Dolphins
2010 - Corey Oshikoya, Denver Broncos


2014 - Joe Recknagel, Detroit Lions
2013 - Bryan Engel, Green Bay Packers
2012 - Britt Brown, Dallas Cowboys
2011 - Steve Kennelly, New York Giants
2010 - Jim Shearer, Arizona Cardinals

close (X)